Dissertation hand-in … I did it!

I did it! I’ve finished my dissertation!

dissertation - university of winchester jenna lloyd BA undergraduate modern liberal arts


Anyone who knows me particularly well will know that my time at university hasn’t been an easy one. From picking the wrong course to personal difficulties, I ended up on a degree program that thinks about the bigger questions. I made some great friends along the way, despite being a commuter and sometimes missing out on events. I have grown as a person and learnt important lessons about self care, tolerance and hard work.


Most importantly, I have learnt to believe in myself and that I can do something if I set my mind to it.

I wrote a dissertation examining the self/other relationship of modern feminism, exploring intersectional and queer theories and suggesting a situation not dissimilar to the dialectic of enlightenment in Adorno and Horkheimer. Through reading Hegel (and critiques by my professor as well as his no. 1 fan, Gillian Rose) I began to wonder if equality and the freedom that it promises can hold any truth. I’m still not sure what I concluded, only now I think that a key component of mutuality is difficulty. In other words, we struggle to see the other as their own entity, even when they present themselves as a subject. Also, feminism shouldn’t revert to mastery and barbarism, it should be reflective and aware of contradictions as and when they present themselves (white, bourgeois feminism etc)…

The deadline day

Yesterday I had a meal and drinks with my course mates and my tutors. It was emotional as we played games, told stories and laughed a lot. Now comes the time to close the chapter of my life that was BA Modern Liberal Arts. I’ll be pretty emotional about leaving it all behind but I know that the way I’ve been encouraged to think won’t ever leave me, and that’s okay… Although I’ll still roll my eyes when anyone asks me to explain what ‘liberal arts’ actually means or what we did.

What’s next you ask?

Well I’ll graduate in October and I’ll post all about that, don’t you worry. As for now, I’m on the lookout for a job where I can help a brand that I believe in to blossom through creating engaging and interesting content. Ideally I want to write like I do here, but I’d just be happy to do something social or events based. The blogging will continue regardless and I will of course keep you guys posted as to what the future holds.


More photos of the hand-in day with the delightful Cami will be up at some point.

Cross your fingers for me guys…


Keep up to date with my latest posts on:
| Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+ |

If you liked this post, you should check out:
Where have I been?! – I talk about why I took a blog hiatus
where will we go on holiday in 2016? – my wishlist of holiday destinations for this year
Mental Health and University – some important advice about looking after your mental health while at uni


4 thoughts on “Dissertation hand-in … I did it!

Leave a Reply

