adventures: Christmas Family Fun Day

(I know this is a bit late but if you want to read why I didn’t post over the Christmas period, see here. For the vlog on this page, scroll to the bottom of the post.)

I am proud to be called an Auntie to three amazing children – Ofelia, Erin and Logan. Despite usually finding it difficult to bond with peoples’ kids, these three are very important to me and I try to dedicate as much time and energy into spending time with them and their parents as possible.

Just before Christmas, I planned a whole week of seeing my nieces and nephew because the magic that children see at that time of year is the best. Unfortunately, I got tonsilitis and wasn’t able to see Erin and Logan until recently but me, my sister-in-law Lisa and little Ofelia had a really fun and festive day just before I got ill so I thought I’d show you guys what we got up to!


First on the agenda was visiting a local garden centre because their Christmas displays are always gorgeous. We went to Haskins in Ferndown and Fee was instantly enamored with all the soft and sparkly seasonal stock.



There were some beautiful ornaments, some of which had moving parts that we really liked but it was important not to touch them!



The trip made me really wish we had our own place so that I could have got some nice decorations but this time next year, I’ll definitely be going back. After a quick bit of ‘ladies who lunch’ we went next door to Hobbycraft to get some gifts.


ofelia_lisa_toddler_shopping_hobbycraft_mumNext stop was the supermarket to grab some ingredients to make Christmas cookies. Fee really enjoyed doing this but kept asking “Can we eat them yet?” before we’d put them in the oven!




While baking the cookies, we opened Fee’s Peppa Pig advent calendar.


Then we made some Christmas cards using some of the bits we got from Hobbycraft. Lisa helped Ofelia to make cards for her grandparents and one for me and Uncle Josh (“Make sure Uncle Josh gets my card!” she said…)


We had lots of cuddles and playtime then snacked on our cookies – delicious! It was a really fun day overall and we did it all on a budget.



Below is my rather poorly cut together vlog from our day. It is best watched in 720pHD with the sound on.
Please bear with me as I still get to grips with the camera, the editing software and basically everything!

Did you do any fun activities for the holidays?
What children’s activities do you do on a budget?

Let me know and leave me links in the comments below.


Keep up to date with my latest posts on:
| Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+

If you liked this post, you should check out:

Why I’ve Been Invisible On Social Media This Christmas – I went offline in order to spend the holidays with my loved ones…

6 thoughts on “adventures: Christmas Family Fun Day

  1. Ooooh that little girl is gorgeous! It’s funny that you say you don’t bond with other people’s kids easily because it’s the same for me. I’m not that much of a kids person and when I’m approached by kids I don’t know well I’m usually a bit confused and don’t know how to behave. But the kids seem to love me! I am an auntie of two little girls who keep fighting with each other whenever I’m there because they both want my attention…😉 But they can be really cute, too!
    xoxo Carina

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a cute little girl. She reminds me of my best friend’s daughter. Every time I visit them, Ella, that’s the girl’s name, grabs my hand and leads me directly into her room, showing me all her toys. So it doesn’t even take a minute after walking through the door, and I find myself sitting on the floor and playing with her. I love kids so much. They are full of energy, have a vast phantasy and it is such pure joy to be around them. I hope you enjoyed the holidays. -Sanny


Leave a Reply

