Why I’ve Been Invisible On Social Media This Christmas

(I’d like to stress that I am not begrudging anyone who did schedule posts/tweets or share pictures/videos of them or their loved ones over the holidays.

That is completely your choice and if it’s what’s right for you then that’s perfectly fine.

This is not an attack piece!)


As 2015 ends I think it’s safe to say that this year my blogging skills have vastly improved. I have taught myself basic Photoshop and video editing techniques, I am now the proud owner of a decent camera (thanks Josh!) and I have learnt a hell of a lot about social media marketing and personal relations from some other fantastic bloggers and web types.

Upon reflection, I also noticed that in 2015, I spent a ridiculous amount of time ensuring that I had a presence online. I joke about it with my friends and family but I am always trying to make sure that I am posting statuses, photos, check-in’s, pins… I am trawling through hashtags and chats trying to follow and find followers relevant to my blog’s ‘brand’ – the lovely Antoinette has a great video elaborating on whatever the hell that is?! … I would schedule posts to try and free up my day or if I knew was busy that day, only to then realise that those posts would still need sharing, promoting or responding to…

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love blogging and writing online. I love the community of kind and supportive people that I have met through doing such things. I am inspired of and in awe of so many great people that I follow daily and I’m always interested in what they’ve been up to or how they’re feeling… It’s just that at some point, without realising it, I had made social media a necessity, rather than a tool. I’m more than aware of how a great online presence is essential to these kinds of things and I’m not swearing off it completely but there are people out there who do and that’s okay too.




What I guess it comes down to is that I simply decided that over the Christmas period, I would make my physical presence my priority and not my social media oneAfter all, who could be staring at their Twitter feed when there’s beautiful, magical moments that might get missed, like my niece Ofelia smiling?

Not me.


That being said, I’m now working on a couple of posts with pictures and videos of what me and family did so there is more smiley Fee to come! This is partly because it’s nice to go back through the photos and footage and remember the fun, but also because I want other family members and friends who I couldn’t see for whatever reason to be able to see what went on.



This is why as I said earlier, I don’t begrudge anyone who did post over the holidays. Whether you did so to keep in touch with other loved ones or to preserve some special moments, or simply because you’re super-organised and scheduled a bunch of content, that’s awesome and you shouldn’t ever feel guilty for any of that. I was (virtually) invisible on social media over the holidays because I had spent most of the year feeling guilty for not being online enough! I now see that wasn’t necessary and in the New Year, I’ll be making sure that I make the moments matter instead.


Have you ever taken a break from blogging/social media?
Did you post over the holidays?

Let me know and leave me links in the comments below.


Keep up to date with my latest posts on:
| Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+

If you liked this post, you should check out:

why selfies are inherently feminist – how posting a selfie is really about self-love and that’s okay!

Fear of Missing Out: why your feed is making you miserable – a piece I wrote for Zusterschap about social media making us want more

8 thoughts on “Why I’ve Been Invisible On Social Media This Christmas

  1. What a wonderful post and great pictures. This Christmas I only posted a picture on Instagram and wrote one blog post. It was about a dream that I had two weeks ago and thought it would fit perfectly to the true meaning of Christmas.
    As much as I love blogging and spending time online, I totally agree with you, that the real world is still more important than the virtual one. I love spending time with my family. A few years ago, I thought I had to tweet or post something every day, just to be more present. But this also caused some stress. So I decided to write only one blog post every week, as I think sharing less is better than just posting something “only” that something new is on my blog. And also on other social networks I only give myself a specific time frame. Because, like on Twitter, there are so many tweets every second, and time can rush by so quickly. I don’t wanna miss my virtual friends and love to connect with new people online, but I also love to spend time with my “real” friends.


Leave a Reply

