how to: throw a Great British Bake Off Finale party!

I’ll admit I didn’t really get the hype with the Great British Bake Off in previous years. I thought it was going to be pompous and as someone who can’t bake to save their life, the premise just didn’t interest me. I hold my hands up now and firmly swallow some humble pie (get it?) while I hereby admit on the internet that I have a new found love for GBBO and all it’s twee brilliance.


Credits to

As it’s the finale this evening, I thought I would put together a few tips for anyone thinking of throwing a Bake Off party because let’s face it, when have we ever needed an excuse to eat, drink and be merry?


This is the most pivotal thing to get right for your party! When watching the contestants create their masterpiece morsels or showstopping savories, your tummies will be rumbling and there’s nothing worse than hungry guests! If you’re really daring, you could try recreating some of the bakes from time gone by or perhaps adding your own twist or secret ingredient.


Image from Digital Spy.


Image from Yahoo News.

If you’re trying to do it on a budget, simply let people know that it’s BYOB (bring your own bake)… Someone’s bound to bring a shop bought something though!


Image from


If you’re going quintessentially British here, tea is an absolute must have for your Bake Off party. Perhaps you’ve got a cute tea set lying around that you could serve it in?


Image by Sira Anamwong, 2014 licensed from

Alternatively if you’ve got Thursday off, you could crack out a Pimms No 1. Cup in a pitcher for everyone to share. Refreshing and rather boozy!



For this bit, I had to head to Pinterest for inspiration as I am not very good at anything crafty!
Think a similar theme to any Jubilee party – flags of red, white and blue, bunting and cute printables for the table.


Four above images from Pinterest and are not my own. 
Credits: 1, 2, 3, 4


Have you held or are you having a Great British Bake Off Party?

Do you and your friends gather to watch TV shows?


Let me know and leave me links in the comments below!




Keep up to date with my latest posts on:
| Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Google+ |

If you liked this post, you should check out:
how to: commute to uni – tips and tricks for commuting to work or for education

4 thoughts on “how to: throw a Great British Bake Off Finale party!

Leave a Reply

