my queerness erased

Content warnings: threatening behaviour, LGBTQIAP-phobia, bi-erasure, pan-erasure

I came out as bisexual at fourteen years old. At home, it was as if nothing had changed. My mum always has and always will be like a best friend. I tell her everything and she has always supported me in what, or who, makes me happy.

At school, however, I experienced the real, bitter tastes of phobia and hatred. Name-calling, physical assaults and threats became an everyday part of my life for a while. I was lucky enough to have friends who were always quick to defend me, but the words still stung and the bullies still managed to find me when I was alone.

As I’ve gotten older, not only have society’s views about the LGBTQIAP community developed, but of course I have become a young woman and as a result now find myself… Continue reading this post at Zusterschap.

2 thoughts on “my queerness erased

  1. Hi Jenna, just read the full post and love that you have this on your blog. I support this community and am actually currently waiting on a Guest Post being sent to me by someone who identifies themselves as something other than ‘straight’. I can’t wait to have the post on my blog to show I support the community. Hope to see you give it a read and share your thoughts! x


Leave a Reply

